Journalism

Published work of written content

On this page are some examples of work that I have done and contributed to, while studying for my degree I have carried out valuable work experience and internship placements, including Vice, Dazed Digital, Nottingham Contemporary, Wales Online (Carmarthen Journal) and LeftLion. You can also find my work featured in Tmrw, Euphoria, Noctis, Dork, Upset, Dazed, SheBOPS, Spindle Magazine, LeftLion, Platform, 1883, Schön! and The National Student.

My duties while freelancing involve writing reviews, social commentary and opinion pieces on a variety of subjects. These tasks also involve conducting and transcribing interviews, contributing to features and news stories, pitching articles, creating research documents, devise SEO’s and stand firsts alongside editing and uploading content, as well as research and producing original content in order to keep to a specific brief with a target demographic in mind; using CMS extensively to upload copy and galleries; attending daily editorial meetings all while keeping within a tight deadline.

Alongside writing content, I have also interviewed the likes of Charli XCX, Mac Demarco, Madison Beer, RAYE, Tiffany Young (of K-pop super group Girls’ Generation), Circa Waves, Kojo Funds, Freya Ridings, Tom Grennan, Jack Gilinsky, Nina Nesbitt, Sarah Close along with many more talented individuals. Freelancing for such publications has both heightened my interest and curiosity in these sectors, as well as having taught me valuable skills and broadened my knowledge immensely resulting in winning two awards for my creative contribution to media for two years in a row.

To view more of my content written for clients, click here-  https://ashmorris.contently.com/

 

schon

Schön! Magazine

Bailee Madison interview- https://schonmagazine.com/interview-bailee-madison/?fbclid=IwAR26pGgWb8tTWjU-LHJVYaFSe3d6I4scfFtXFE2C7QBRg_l4litvAxLR6EA

Dahlia Sleeps interview- https://schonmagazine.com/interview-dahlia-sleeps/?fbclid=IwAR3Gy4eC-S-gnQzdyG_-LXIozDcXf1PEaaSlgrQ86oEZnCKHQqmTvaJC2pc

 

dork mag

Dork Magazine

‘Wet’ Track Review & Feature- https://www.readdork.com/reviews/wet-still-run

wet review.jpg

Anteros interview- https://www.readdork.com/features/hype-list-2019-anteros?fbclid=IwAR18RemznQ2RIsKVpISD2_T9Q8m77kr-sHrmW-n7eZl1Yw9cJRAkzJiBYEk

 

 

1883 logo

1883 Magazine

Jack & Jack Interview for ‘The Royalty Issue’

 

Muhammad Ali Interview (print feature)- http://1883magazine.com/muhammad-ali/

Muhammad ali

 

shebops logo

SheBOPS

Cardi B’s Hit Album: Is the Record Breaking Rapper Here to Stay?- https://shebops.net/cardi-b-invasion-of-privacy/

Nina Nesbitt Interview- https://shebops.net/nina-nesbitt-interview/

ABISHA Interview- https://shebops.net/abisha-interview/

CZARINA Interview and Music Video Premiere- https://shebops.net/czarina-interview-premiere/

Aria Wunderland Interview- https://shebops.net/aria-wunderland-interview/

 

leftlion mag

LeftLion Magazine

Madison Beer Interview- https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2018/march/madison-beer-interview-as-she-pleases/

DHP Support Young Female Music Promoters by Backing New Campaign- https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2018/may/dhp-young-female-promoters-campaign-music-venue-trust/

Speak for Sign: The Importance of Sign Language- https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2018/may/speak-for-sign-nottingham/

Bru-C Interview- https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2018/may/bru-c-on-outlook-festival/

Mac Demarco Review and Interview- https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2017/november/mac-demarco-live-rock-city-nottingham/

Sean Noonan Live Review- https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2017/september/live-music-review-sean-noonan-memorable-sticks-trio-at-bonington-theatre-nottingham/

Ady Suleiman Review-

ady suleiman

CEO of the Nottingham Womens Centre, Helen Voce Interview – https://www.leftlion.co.uk/read/2018/august/nottingham-womens-centre-award/

Helen voce.jpg

 

dazed

Dazed Digital (winter editorial intern)

How Ketamine is Helping Depression- http://www.dazeddigital.com/science-tech/article/39057/1/ketamine-anti-depressant-research-brain-chemistry

Junglepussy interview (transcribed by me)- http://www.dazeddigital.com/music/article/38941/1/junglepussy-state-of-the-union-interview

Shia LaBeouf, Nastja Säde Rönkkö, and Luke Turner interview (transcribed by me)- http://www.dazeddigital.com/art-photography/article/39239/1/shia-labeouf-nastja-sade-ronkko-luke-turner-interview-take-me-anywhere

 

platform

Platform Magazine

Ariana Grande ‘No Tears Left To Cry’ review- http://www.platformmagazine.co.uk/music/single-review-ariana-grande-no-tears-left-cry/

‘Lady Bird’ movie review- http://www.platformmagazine.co.uk/culture-and-entertainment/lady-bird-review/

‘Bladerunner 2049’ film review- http://www.platformmagazine.co.uk/culture-and-entertainment/bladerunner-2049/

‘Murder on the Orient Express’ movie review- http://www.platformmagazine.co.uk/culture-and-entertainment/film-review-murder-orient-express/

 

euph

EUPHORIA Magazine

Ariana Grande ‘Thank u, Next’ track review-  http://www.euphoriazine.com/blog/2018/12/new-music/videos-ariana-grande-thank-u-next-music-video/

Rina Sawayama ‘Cherry’ track review- http://www.euphoriazine.com/blog/2018/09/new-music/videos-rina-sawayama-cherry/

Jorja Smith ‘On Your Own’ track review- http://www.euphoriazine.com/blog/2018/09/new-music/videos-jorja-smith-on-your-own/

Mabel ‘One Shot’ track review- http://www.euphoriazine.com/blog/2018/09/new-music/videos-new-music-music-video-mabel-one-shot/

Charli XCX & Troye Sivan ‘1999’ track review- http://www.euphoriazine.com/blog/2018/10/new-music/tracks-charli-xcx-troye-sivan-1999/

 

noctis mag

Noctis Magazine

Maya B interview- http://www.noctismag.com/2018/10/08/maya-b-5-minutes-with/

Halu Halo Project (mixed race experiences)-  http://www.noctismag.com/2019/01/12/the-things-they-dont-tell-you-about-being-mixed-race/

Femme Culture interview- http://www.noctismag.com/2018/12/02/femme-culture-5-minutes-with/

Kojo Funds print feature + interview (The Subculture Issue)-